Rockdale County Car Accident Attorney
Car accidents are a huge public safety problem in our region. The devastating effects of motor vehicle collisions impact every community in Georgia. According to the Governor’s Office of Highway Safety in Georgia, there were 3,753 crashes reported in Rockdale County in 2016. Altogether, these accidents resulted in at least 888 injuries and 13 confirmed fatalities.
Following a serious accident, victims need to be able to get a full and fair settlement offer so that they can pay their medical bills and provide much needed financial support for their loved ones. Sadly, the big insurance companies rarely make the car accident claims process easy for injured people. In all too many cases, victims struggle to get the compensation that they rightfully deserve.
At MG Law, our experienced Rockdale County car accident lawyers work aggressively to protect the rights and interests of injured victims in Georgia. If you were hurt in a crash in Conyers, GA, or in any of the surrounding cities and towns, we are here to help. Please do not hesitate to contact our law firm for immediate legal assistance.
What to Do After an Auto Accident in Rockdale County
- Seek Medical Attention
If you were hurt in a collision in Rockdale County, you should get yourself in for a checkup as soon as possible. Severe injuries always require immediate medical care. In an emergency situation, you should take a ride in an ambulance to the nearest hospital. In non-emergency situations, you still need to get yourself to a doctor. Many common car accident injuries take up to 72 hours to fully develop.
- Report the Crash
Under the law, Rockdale County accidents must be reported to law enforcement if there was an injury or more than $500 in vehicle damage. You should be sure to report your wreck to the state or local police. This way an officer can be dispatched to the scene to write a timely crash report.
- Document the Accident
When you file a car accident injury claim, you will want to have the strongest possible evidence in hand. You should document your crash to the best of your ability. This includes taking pictures, getting witness contact information, exchanging information from the other drivers, and securing any other relevant evidence.
- Contact a Rockdale County Car Accident Lawyer
Finally, you should not make any statement to insurance companies immediately after your crash. You have the legal right to take some time to gather your thoughts and speak to a professional. Unfortunately, insurance adjusters, even from your own company, are simply not on your side. If you suffered major injuries in a crash, you should be sure to work with the insurer through an experienced Rockdale County car accident attorney.
The Georgia Statute of Limitations
Rockdale County auto accident lawsuits are controlled by our state’s statute of limitations (Ga. Code Ann. Sec. 9-3-33). Under the law, injured victims must file their legal claim within two years of their collision. The failure to do so will likely result in the legal claim being automatically dismissed as a matter of state law.
While this may seem like plenty of time, there is simply no reason to wait to take action. There are many benefits to hiring a car accident lawyer immediately after your crash. Not only will your lawyer protect your rights and help you bring a strong claim, but your lawyer will also be able to help you get financial compensation as quickly as possible.
Who Is Liable For A Car Accident?
Georgia is an at-fault, comparative negligence jurisdiction (Ga. Code Ann. Sec. 51-12-33). In some cases, car accident claims are brought against vehicle manufacturers, private companies, or even government entities. However, most Georgia car accident claims are brought against other drivers. Research suggests that more than 95 percent of all car crashes are caused by driver negligence. This negligence can come in many different forms. Examples include:
- Running red lights;
- Running stop signs;
- Failure to yield;
- Unsafe lane changes;
- Reckless driving;
- Distracted driving;
- Using a cell phone while behind the wheel;
- Drunk driving; and
- Drugged driving.
Regardless of the specific nature of your auto accident, you will be required to prove negligence with supporting evidence. In some cases, the other driver may simply admit fault. Though, unfortunately, this does not always happen. In some cases, an at-fault driver may even lie to law enforcement or the insurance company. If fault is disputed in your car accident case, it is imperative that you speak with a top-rated Rockdale County car accident lawyer as soon as possible.
Compensation Available To Injured Victims
Our Rockdale car accident lawyers are committed to helping injured victims fight for complete financial compensation. Under Georgia law, victims can hold a negligent party liable for the full extent of their damages. However, compensation can only be recovered if the victim can actually prove the value of their losses. This can be challenging. Insurance companies are well-known to push back aggressively against auto accident injury claims, attempting to reduce the value as much as possible. Our car accident lawyers in Rockdale County have the skills and experience needed to help victims properly document and present their claim. We may be able to help you get money for:
- Emergency room fees;
- Ongoing medical care;
- Medical equipment;
- Prescription drugs;
- Rehabilitative care;
- Lost wages;
- Diminished earning capacity;
- Pain and suffering;
- Emotional distress;
- Physical disfigurement; and
- Wrongful death.
Were You Injured In A Car Accident In Rockdale County?
We are prepared to assist you. At MG Law, our Rockdale County car accident attorneys have helped many injured victims secure full and fair compensation. If you were hurt in a car wreck, please do not hesitate to contact our law firm to arrange a free, no obligation initial consultation.
With an office in Conyers, GA, we represent car accident victims throughout Rockdale County, including in Ebenezer, Honey Creek, Magnet, Milstead, Oak Hill, Pleasant Hill, Princeton, Salem, and Union Grove.
Head-On Collision In Georgia: How Long Do I Have To File A Case?
When you think about two vehicles colliding head-on after barreling down the road at high speeds, you can just imagine the resulting devastation. However, statistics reveal just how deadly and destructive frontal crashes can be. According to the Insurance Information Institute (III), there were more than 3,600 fatal head-on accidents in 2018, representing almost 11 percent of all collisions that caused death to at least one person. Plus:
- There is a 58 percent fatality rate for occupants of vehicles in frontal collisions;
- Head-ons are more likely in rural areas, comprising 13 percent of all fatal accidents; and
- Frontal impact crashes are responsible for 57 percent of all passenger vehicle occupant deaths, whereas side impacts were linked to 23 percent of fatalities.
If you suffered injuries or lost a loved one in a head-on collision, it may be reassuring to know that you have legal remedies under Georgia law. Time is of the essence in these cases, so it is important to work with a skilled Conyers, GA car accident attorney who knows the relevant deadlines. You might also benefit from reviewing some general information on head-on crashes and how long you have to file a case.
Georgia’s Statute Of Limitations
Every US state has a time restriction on filing a lawsuit for personal injuries, including cases involving car accidents and other head-on collisions. In Georgia, victims of motor vehicle crashes have two years after the incident to sue the at-fault driver. If you miss this deadline, you are forever barred from recovering compensation for your losses. Two years might seem like a long time, but keep in mind that you might still be receiving treatment for your injuries; you could also be embroiled in settlement negotiations with the responsible motorist’s insurance company.
Though rare, there are exceptions to the statute of limitations that may pause the clock and give you additional time. The deadline may be extended for frontal crash victims who are minors or suffer from incapacity, or if the defendant leaves Georgia before the victim is able to serve the lawsuit.
Extreme Dangers In Head-On Crashes
The physics of a front-to-front collision are what makes these incidents so deadly. Energy is not deflected like it would be in a sideswipe or rear-end impact where both vehicles are traveling in the same direction. Instead, the two vehicles will essentially share the force behind their combined speeds. In other words, if both cars are traveling at 60 miles per hour and strike head-on, the impact is 60 mph. Beyond this basic concept, vehicle weight, weather, road conditions, and other factors may also affect the force of the collision.
Because of how physics affects frontal accidents, one of the most common types of injuries is traumatic brain injury (TBI). The implications may range from a minor concussion to serious, penetrating brain trauma, but these injuries occur due to an extreme blow to the head. The brain may strike against the hard bone of the skull, which can disrupt the normal functioning of the brain.
It is also common for victims of head-on collisions to sustain:
- Spinal cord injuries, which often lead to paralysis;
- Trauma to internal organs;
- Injuries to the lower extremities;
- Bone fractures;
- Soft tissue injuries, such as whiplash or herniated or bulging spinal discs;
- Scrapes, abrasions, and lacerations; and
- Many others.
Your Legal Rights and Deadlines
While head-on accidents are unique in the catastrophic damage they can cause, they still proceed according to the same laws that cover other traffic collisions. The principles of negligence apply, so you must prove the following elements to recover monetary damages:
- The responsible motorist had a duty to drive safely;
- That driver breached this legal duty of care;
- The breach of duty was the direct cause of the head-on crash; and
- You suffered losses as a result of being hurt.
The first step in the legal process is usually filing a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company. You might expect to receive payment after filling out some forms, but you will likely encounter challenges. Your claim represents a potential loss to the company, so the insurer will try to find reasons to deny or make a lowball counteroffer to settle. If you cannot resolve your claim by agreement, you will need to initiate litigation. Based upon Georgia’s statute of limitations, you have two years from the date of the accident to sue in court.
Regardless of whether you settle with an insurance company or resort to litigation, you may be entitled to a wide range of compensation as the victim of a head-on accident. The details vary based upon your situation, but monetary damages are available for:
- Medical costs;
- Lost wages, if you were unable to work because of your injuries;
- Pain and suffering;
- Scarring and disfigurement; and
- Losses that affect your personal relationships and quality of life.
What To Do After A Head-On Collision In Georgia
The most important task in the aftermath of a crash is getting the medical attention you need for your injuries. Seeking proper care will get you on the right track to heal, but it also preserves your rights when filing a claim for compensation. Depending on your physical condition, you should also take photos and video of the scene, talk to witnesses, and note any businesses nearby.
Note that you should avoid making statements to other motorists, other than to exchange contact information. You could reveal too much, which may harm your interests in the legal process.