| Read Time: 2 minutes | Car Accident

Georgia’s Laws on Insurance Rates

If you are involved in a wreck that was not your fault, your insurance premiums should not increase.

O.C.G.A. § 33-9-40 prohibits an insurance carrier from raising your premiums if you did not cause the accident regardless of whether you take advantage of uninsured motorist coverage and/or medical payments coverage available under your insurance policy.

For assistance from our experienced Atlanta, Georgia auto accident attorneys, please call (770) 988-5252 or reach us online today. We offer free consultations.

Should You Report Your Car Wreck to Your Insurance Company?

Many people wonder whether they have to report a car accident to their insurance company, or if it’s even wise to do so. The answer is yes.

For starters, O.C.G.A. § 40-6-273 requires you to report any vehicle accident to the police involving injury, death, or property damages totaling more than $500.

The vast majority of vehicle accidents fit these requirements. Even if no one was visibly hurt, property damage can easily exceed $500, and injuries may also show up later.

Therefore, unless the crash was very minor, it’s best to always report a car accident in Georgia. If you are reporting the accident to the police, then it is serious enough that you should report it to your insurance company as well.

Failing to report an accident to your insurance company can also have negative effects at a later date.

Many drivers are especially hesitant to tell their insurance company about an accident because they are worried about increasing premiums. As explained above, your insurance will not go up if you are not at fault.

There are three key reasons why you should always do so, even if the law does not require it or if the wreck was your fault:

  • First, your own insurance policy may require you to contact your insurance company so that they conduct their own investigation.
  • Second, you may discover available coverage to help you with your damages regardless of whether the accident was your fault.
  • Lastly, if you don’t notify your insurance company about the accident, you may be denied certain protections if the other driver files a claim for damages.

In other words, not reporting a car accident to your auto insurance can result in further expenses and less protection down the road.

Contact Our Georgia Car Accident Lawyers for Assistance

At MG Law, we have the tools and experience required to help you through the insurance claims process. We understand how difficult the insurance process can be, but MG Law works tirelessly to get the most from your car crash settlement.

When you work with MG Law, you don’t have to worry about up-front legal costs. We work on a contingency basis, which means that we don’t get paid until you do.

Reach out to us online or call (770) 988-5252 to schedule a free consultation to learn more about how we can help you.


  • Laws 1986, P.1184, 1; Laws 1987, p. 3, 33.
  • Ga. Code Ann., 33-9-40, GA ST 33-9-40
  • The statues and constitution are currency with Acts 281 to 284, 287 to 288, and 290 to 292 of the 2018 legislative session. 
  • The statutes are subject to change by the Georgia Code Commission 
Author Photo

Michael Geoffroy’s law practice focuses on auto collisions, premises liability, wrongful death, and catastrophic injury. He stands up for the cause of justice throughout Georgia and on behalf of his clients every day. He is a leader in both the courtroom and the community, having been recognized numerous times for his involvement in each.